Baked Cauliflower Bites

14 Apr

I know that I made cauliflower bites in my cupcake maker a while back but I made an updated version tonight and they are delicious! I’d made a cauliflower puree in my food processor and decided I wanted something different.

Here’s what I did for the puree:

3/4 head of cauliflower (it was a huge cauliflower. If you have a normal size one, you could use one whole head of cauliflower), shredded

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil

Salt and Pepper

1/2 tablespoon of herbs de Provence or Italian seasoning

3/4 cup of low sodium chicken broth

non-stick cooking spray

Spray the saute pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Swirl the extra virgin olive oil and add the garlic. Remember not to let it burn! Add the cauliflower. Season with salt, pepper and spice mix. Saute and then as it seems tender, pour in the broth.

Break down the cauliflower in a food processor and let cool.

Puree

For the bites:

3/4 cup of panko breadcrumbs

1/2 cup of shredded Parmesan cheese

cauliflower puree (the above makes almost 2 cups, pureed)

1 egg white (if you have closer to 2 + cups, use two egg whites)

Preheat oven to 385 degrees. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. I got suckered in to buying a Quick Whisk yesterday so I used this to whip the egg whites a bit. Don’t overbeat them! I have this fun macaroon pan that I have actually never used to make macaroons in that was perfect for this. I baked these for about 12 minutes on one side, then flipped them over and baked them again for another 5-8 so it got crispy on each side. These would go great with some sort of Greek yogurt dip or sour cream.

bites1 bites2

C’est si yum!!

 

Leave a Reply

