Eggplant Fries

21 Mar

I’ve never cooked eggplant and I’ve never picked out eggplant but I saw an unbruised one in the grocery on sale and figured I’d give it a try! This was super easy and delicious…I ended up eating the whole batch. You could also slice the eggplant thinly and have slices of eggplant for eggplant Parmesan.

What you need –
1 medium eggplant
1 cup of unseasoned breadcrumbs (I’ve also seen recipes that suggest panko)
1 TBS of herbs de provence

2 egg whites, whipped so you see some bubbles

1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan (I love this stuff. There is no picture on Sam’s Club but this is what I used)

Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the eggplant into “fry shapes.” I cut the skin off of it. In one bowl, whip your egg whites so there is some air in them. In another bowl, season the breadcrumbs with the herbs de provence, salt and pepper, with the shredded Parmesan. I crumbled the Parmesan so it wasn’t just shredded pieces.

Spray a baking sheets. I am not a fan of cleaning baking sheets so I lined them with foil and then sprayed them down. Toss the eggplant pieces in the egg whites (rewhip as needed) and then in the breadcrumb mixture. Bake for 10 – 15 minutes, turning once or twice.

I made a quick spicy-ranch Greek yogurt dip.

1/2 cup of Greek yogurt

1 TBS of Ranch dressing

Hot sauce

Mix and enjoy!

Serve the fries warm. They are crunchy and delicious! C’est si Yum!

One Response to “Eggplant Fries”

  1. Carrie March 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Your eggplant fries look amazing and tasty too! The shredded parmesan is a fantastic addition. I thought that you would be interested in checking out our Simply Delicious Meals page on Samclub.com/meals which has a variety of recipes for every occasion. Thanks for sharing this recipe AND for shopping at Sam’s Club! – Carrie from Sam’s Club

Leave a Reply

