Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

12 Jan

My wonderful fella is wonderfully into fantasy sports. Last weekend while he monitored his line ups and points, I caught up on my cooking competitions. This season, “Top Chef” is in Texas and the last episode was barbecue themed. Of course he was half paying attention to the tv but the end take away was, “Let’s get some barbecue!” It was pretty late and in Boston, late night BBQ was not a delivery option. I decided to surprise him later that weekend with a surprise, homemade easy barbecue in the chicken slow cooker. He gave it a 12 out of 10 so you should definitely try it! The recipe I made, made three sandwiches and had some leftover.

What I used –

3 boneless chicken breasts

1 bottle of BBQ Sauce, I used Sweet Baby Ray’s Bourbon BBQ sauce

2 TBS maple syrup

Salt and Pepper

1 garlic clove, chopped

1 scallion, chopped

Set the crock pot on high and put the chicken in the bottom with the garlic and scallion. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover with 3/4 of the BBQ sauce and syrup. Leave for four to six hours on high. About four hours into it I added the rest of the sauce from the bottle. Check and “stir” and the chicken will shred easily the longer it cooks. Serve on a toasted bun! I served it with Bush’s baked beans and some corn bread.

C’est si Yum!

Leave a Reply

