Quick Soup Recipe

29 Sep

Sometimes I crave soup. I just want soup and when I look at the canned soup in the grocery I can’t bring myself to buy it! I made a quick soup recipe this week that was filling and topped with a piece of sourdough bread (I would recommend toasting it for sure) and Parmesan cheese.

Here’s what you need:
1 16 oz carton of chicken broth (I use low sodium)
1 Cup of no pulp orange juice
2 TBS of Sherry Wine
Salt and Pepper
2 tsp of herbs de provence
1/3 cup of Israeli Couscous (don’t substitute regular couscous) – you could also use 1/2 cup cooked brown or white rice
2 TBS butter
Sourdough slices (1 per serving)
Shredded Parmesan cheese

In a medium sauce pan combine all ingredients but 1 TBS of butter and couscous. When boiling add Israeli couscous and the other TBS of butter. When the couscous is tender serve in a bowl with a piece of sourdough bread and sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. Quick and delicious. I suppose if you wanted to add vegetables or chicken to this you could but make sure to cook them first and then add them to the liquids.

C’est si Yum!

Leave a Reply

