Restaurant Review: Mussel Bar

21 Mar

I never had mussels until I went to college. There is a French restaurant Uptown in New Orleans called La Crepe Nanou that has delicious mussels and French fare. I’ve made them a couple of times myself, see a previous post about easy mussels. They are a relatively cheap food to make.

As we continue the food tour that was my short trip to MD/DC, Mussel Bar, in Bethesda, MD has AMAZING mussels. My friend and I split a pan but we could have easily eaten one each. We tried the classic style, which is roasted garlic, shallots and white wine. The frites come regular or sweet vanilla and both are awesome. The service was quick and friendly. Forget the jacket at home though, this open-fired restaurant is HOT. The host was very helpful as our party of two grew to five. We were quickly reseated despite it being a Friday night. The only downside is that the outdoor seating, which looks fabulous, is first come first serve and stayed packed until we left.

Would be perfect for a date. Maybe next time I travel there, I’ll bring the fella.

I definitely want to go back and can only hope that Boston will get a similar concept!

C’est si Yum!!

Leave a Reply

