Ham Improvisation

6 Apr
I don’t enjoy the deli-style ham that is sliced thin in the store.  I do enjoy home cooked spiral ham.  This year for Easter, I made my first spiral ham.  It’s pretty much one of the easiest things you can make and it looks super impressive when it comes out.
What you need is:
1 – Spiral Ham from the store – if it comes with a glaze packet perfect, if not that’s ok too.
1 Cup of Pineapple Tidbits – canned or frozen
3 to 4 Cups of Orange Juice
1/3 Cup of Brown Sugar
Salt and Pepper to Taste
2 Tablespoons of Brown Grain Mustard
2 Tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil – I did not measure this amount.  I did two swirls out of my bottle so I guesstimate that it is 2 Tablespoons.
Preheat your oven to 325 or whatever your ham directions say.  I drizzle a bit with extra virgin olive oil.  Put ham in the oven and set timer.  It should say about an hour.
Bring out the blender!!  I actually used a blending tool similar to the magic bullet. I had frozen pineapple but if it isn’t frozen, you might not need as much orange juice.  Blend until smooth.
In a sauce pan, combine the ham glaze that comes with your ham, pineapple/orange juice puree, mustard and brown sugar.  Bring to a boil and let reduce.  This takes about 20 – 30 minutes.  Keep warm but watch it because you don’t want it to burn.  When the ham has been in for about 45 minutes take out and pour/brush the sauce over the ham.  Put back in the oven for the remaining 15 minutes.
Serve warm!  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

